Portaferry fail to shine

Portaferry fail to shine

10 October 2018

PAULA O’Hagan was the scourge of Portaferry in this keenly-contested championship showdown at St Patrick’s Park, Newcastle, on Saturday afternoon.

The ruthless half forward continually dragged her marker all over the place and her six points, four from play, enabled Clonduff to wrestle the cup away from a Portaferry side who had the better of the exchanges for large tracts of the game.

Sinead Toner plundered the game’s first score for Portaferry, but with Niamh Mallon having to forage for possession, the Ports lacked a cutting edge. Mallon did manage two points from frees to give Portaferry a 0-3 to 0-1 lead after O’Hagan had registered Clonduff’s first score. 

O’Hagan was the jewel in Clonduff’s crown as she continually took the game to Portaferry and ensured the sides went in level at the break 0-5 apiece — something Portaferry were to rue as Colleen McConnell was their only other player to get on the score sheet in a first half where they dominated.

Portaferry took the game to the defending champions in the second half, but Clonduff’s Beth Fitzpatrick negated Mallon’s influence on the game with touch-tight marking.

Early Mallon scores were cancelled out by Sara Louise Carr and O’Hagan as Clonduff produced a barnstorming finish to run out three-point winners.

Clonduff: K Haughey, E Rafferty, J Boden, N O’Hagan, E Wilson, F Carr, C McGilligan, B Fitzpatrick, C Cowan, K McGilligan, O Morgan, P O’Hagan (0-6, 2f), SL Carr (0-3, 1 45’), O Gribben (0-1), R Mulholland. Subs: I O’Hare for Mulholland, S Murphy for Morgan, N Murray for Gribben.

Portaferry: F McGarry, M McNally, H Toner (0-1), S Toner, C McKenna, J Toner, F Toner, N Mallon (0-5, 4f), C Coleman, E McGrattan, V Donnelly, S Sands, C McConnell (0-1), L Coulter, G McGrattan. Subs: M Fitzsimmons for McGrattan, A Mallon for Coulter, C McMullan for McNally. 

Clonduff 0-10

Portaferry 0-7