Outstanding season at Spa Golf Club

Outstanding season at Spa Golf Club

11 September 2011

SPA golfers last weekend lowered the curtain on a season that has been one of the most successful in the 104-year history of the Ballynahinch club.

As Marian Armstrong and Michael Megoran were feted as the club's Golfers of the Year during the presentation night event senior Spa officers were reflecting on a year of many highlights. 

In direct contrast to the economic downturn Spa's overall membership increased while a mammoth effort driven by the club's past captains' association raised over £10,000 for course improvements and development.

But as the club's popular captain Jimmy Kelly pointed out, the "icing on the cake" was the achievements of the ladies' teams, captained by Louise Adams and Veronica McCormick, who guided Spa to the All-Ireland finals of the Challenge and Minor Cups, capturing the Ulster titles along the way.

Mr. Kelly said his year in office was "racing to a close" but it had been a fantastic journey with so many wonderful experiences and it was something he would remember for the rest of his days.

"I have had a tremendous year as captain — it has been a truly memorable year and I thank you all from the bottom of my heart," he added.

The presentation night, however, belonged to the recipients of Spa's impressive collection of silverware with none more deserving than Marian Armstrong and Michael Megoran who won the coveted crowns of Golfer of the Year.

This was Marian's second successive title and judging by the clutch of other trophies she picked up on the night its one she is determined to hold on to. Michael has also had a tremendous year, winning both the Gordon Cup and the Sunbound Trophy.

But just to show that the more experienced golfers are not prepared to let the younger members completely dominate the scene just yet Roy Graham stepped up to take both the Boyd Cup and the Eden na Vadie Trophy while Bobby Wallace — admittedly assisted by his daughter, Mandy Murphy — had his name added to the John Smyth Mixed Foursomes Trophy.


Men's section

Gordon Cup, Sunbound Trophy and Golfer of the Year: Michael Megoran.

Montalto Cup: Mark Robinson.

Ferguson Trophy: Steffan Barrett.

Boyd Cup and Eden na Vadie Trophy: Roy Graham.

Plessey Cup and Caldwell Cup: Richard Casement.

Holmes Cup: Tony Fearon.

Shaw Trophy: Marty Cuthbert and Brendan McAlarney.

Lowe Cup: Stevie Adams.

Vice President's Cup, Summit Trophy and H L Hegan Cup: Jordan Graham.

Scotia Cup: John Lavery.

John Smyth Trophy: Bobby Wallace and Mandy Murphy.

Ladies' section

Sena Fenneran Cup, Challenge Cup, Howitt Cup, Lowe Cup and Golfer of the Year: Marian Armstrong.

Kinray Trophy, Josie Murray Cup: Amy Geddes.

Lindsay Cup: Veronica McCormick.

02 Challenge Trophy: Gwyneth Cordner.

McRoberts Rosebowl: Doreen Speers.

Victor and Rita Ginesi Memorial Trophy: Carol Shields.

Caldwell Cup: Teresa Hazzard.

Hugh Gordon Cup, Combat Cancer Cup, Coburn Cup: Attracta Byrne.

Slieve Croob Cup: Elaine Beattie.

Plessey Cup: Linda Chambers.

Harvest Cup: Mandy Murphy.

Ladies Foursomes Matchplay Trophy: Pam Trohear and Gwyneth Cordner.

Montalto Cup: Anne O'Prey.

Adams & Aiken Trophy: Liz Geddes.

McIlveen Cup, Hunter Cup: Maureen Hanna.

McEvoy Cup: Kathleen Russell.

Sarah Brennan Cup: Carol Mitchell.

Mitchell Cup: Amy Geddess and Gwyneth Cordner.