McGonigle shines for captivating Carryduff

McGonigle shines for captivating Carryduff

16 November 2011

AN impressive first half work rate and some solid defending provided Carryduff with the platform to consolidate a convincing second half in this replayed final.

Carryduff had kicked a few wides by the time James Guinness opened their account in the fifth minute. Guinness missed an opportunity in the 11th minute, but corner forward McConnell finished to the Saul net in the 13th minute and this left them chasing the game.

Carryduff added further points from McKeever and Lawler in the 15th minute and from McGonigle and McGrath to leave eight points between the teams before Michael Rice responded with a fisted goal for Saul.

McGonigle converted a 21st minute free for Carryduff. Ciaran Harney converted a 24th minute free for Saul, but a point from Niall McGoran in the final minute of the half ensured Carryduff’s seven point cushion on a half-time scoreline of Carryduff 1-8 Saul 1-1.

Curran was again on hand to collect deep in the Carryduff defence when Saul looked at their most dangerous early in the half, and from the resultant forward play McGrath put McConnell in to claim the first score of the second half.

Saul responded with a converted free in the 37th minute, but McGrath restored Carryduff’s advantage a minute later. McGoran’s converted point was quickly followed by Carryduff’s second goal, the hard working McKeever intelligently releasing to Ryan McKee after drawing the defence. McKee obliged with the finish to the


McGonigle converted a 45m free and Guinness and McKeever added points for Carryduff as Saul added three points of their own in the closing minutes of the game.

Carryduff: Mark Hynds, Seamus McCann, Donal McKeever, Conor Curran, Jack Ferrin, Ryan Murray, Ruairi Boyle, Sean McGonigle, Ryan McKee, Ciaran Hinds, James Lawler, Michael McGrath, Niall McGoran, James Guiness, Joe McConnell. Subs: Ciaran Dunlop, Paddy McConnell, Conal Mooney, Michael McGonigle, Paul Maginity, Paul Moran, Mark McGoran, Conor McCloskey, Ted Finnegan, Aaron Doherty.


Carryduff 2-14

Saul 1-5