Marian and Chris on fire

Marian and Chris on fire

6 November 2019

MARIAN Armstrong and Chris Harland were named Spa Golfers of the Year when the club held its annual presentation night on Saturday.

For Marian, it was a phenomenal occasion taking the title for the fifth time and the second year in succession.

Chris, who plays off a handicap of one, also had a great season to become Golfer of the Year for the first time.

It was also a night of triumph for Shirley Anne Stevenson who took home no less than six trophies and the title runner-up in the Golfer of the Year category.

Spa captains Liz Geddes and Brian McClure congratulated all the winners and said 2019 had proved to be another very competitive and successful year for the club.

Both thanked all those who had contributed to that success including the  council, ladies’ committee, club officers, team captains and sponsors, along with the office, bar and restaurant  staff.

PGA professional Gary Wardlow and head greenkeeper Lee Cartmill were also singled out for praise with the captain suggesting the Spa course was now in its best ever condition.

Results: men — Golfer of the Year (O’Kane Trophy), Chris Harland; Winter League Trophy, Brian McCavery, Alan Dowd, Brian Blythe; Gordon Cup, Eugene O’Boyle; Sunbound Cup, Chris Harland; Shaw Cup (doubles), Paul McNamara and Stuart McQueen; Lowe Cup, Ken Burtney; Holmes Cup, Jacksan Milligan; Scotia Cup, David McCullough; John Smith Cup (mixed), John Patterson and Sally Ann Douglas; Vice-President’s Cup, Barry Stevens; Mark Gibson Trophy (mid-week ball), Tom McCord; Montalto Cup, Peter Steele; Boyd Cup, David McCullough; Ferguson Cup, Tony McCusker; Eric Dodd Cup, Colin Hayes; Wallace Cup, John McKinley; Joe Mulholland Cup, Philip Snoddy; A La Carte, Dermot Robinson; Sam Graham Cup, Ken Burtney; Action Press Cup, David Guiney; HL Hegan Cup, Daniel Connolly; Plessey Cup, Gary Rea; McIlveen Cup, Ryan Mason; Caldwell Cup, Colin Munn; DJ Bell Cup, Philip Gregg; Eden na Vadie Cup, Gary Rea; Summit Trophy, Robert McCurry; Brian Irvine Cup, Thomas Bannon; Walter Moore Cup, Ronan Hanna; Dominic Stratton Memorial Trophy, Greg Wilson; Forthill Cup, Mark Gunda; Spa Cup,  Stuart McQueen; Sunday Jug, Barry Stevens.

Ladies — Golfer of the Year, Marian Armstrong; Golfer of the Year runner-up, Shirley Anne Stevenson; Hugh Gordon Cup, Gwyneth Cordner; Plessey Cup, Liz Geddes; Montalto Cup, Marian Armstrong; Josie Murray Cup, Stephanie Rea; Kinray Trophy, Alex Murphy; Lindsay Cup, Lisa McCavery; Victor and Rita Ginesi Cup, Gillian McQueen; 02 Challenge Trophy, Maureen Hanna; Sena Fenneran Cup, Carol Shields; Challenge Cup, Shirley Anne Stevenson;

McRoberts Rosebowl, Pam Trohear; President’s Cup, Shirley Anne Stevenson; Caldwell Cup, Mandy Murphy; Harvest Cup, Susanne McLoughlin; Combat Cancer Trophy, Gillian McQueen; Slieve Croob Cup,  Marian Armstrong; Howitt Cup, Shirley Anne Stevenson; Adams/Aiken Trophy, Lynne Robinson; McIlveen Cup, Carol Shields; Hunter Cup, Pam Trohear; Lowe Cup, Marian Armstrong; Mitchell Cup (hole in one), Lisa McCavery and Shirely Anne Stevenson; Foursomes Cup, Pam Trohear and Gwyneth Cordner; Coburn Cup, Marlene Crawford; McEvoy Cup, Shirley Anne Stevenson; Sarah Brennan Cup, Carol Shields.