Kilcoo claim back the Reserve title

Kilcoo claim back the Reserve title

15 September 2021

KILCOO are the reserve champions for a second time in their history after producing a brilliant display against Burren in Petitt Park to win back the title they previously won in 2013. 

Right from the start of this highly anticipated clash on Sunday the Magpies were on their game, with a fine move in the first minute ending up with the impressive Cillian Laverty slotting over. 

They continued to push on and at the first water-break had registered seven scores to lead by four, Ciaran McEvoy and Jason Morgan to the fore in attack. 

Immediately after the first stoppage, that man McEvoy gave his side a massive cushion when he hit the net, and with Tommy Kane and James McClean dominating the middle sector it looked good for the East Down side. 

Burren were working hard and kept in touch with frees from Declan Murdock and Thomas O’Hare, on a day they found the Kilcoo defence hard to break through, which was expertly manned by the immense Sean O’Hanlon at full back. Half time: Kilcoo 1-8 Burren 0-5. 

The game followed a similar pattern after the break, both teams scoring three points apiece in the third quarter. 

Burren kept coming but couldn’t find the goal they desired, while at the other end Dominic McEvoy’s men spurned a few good chances to put clear daylight between the sides. 

With time almost up Burren got a penalty which was drove over the bar by Aaron Murdock and this proved to be the last action in an enjoyable final as the superb Magpies ran out five point winners. 

County board representative Sean Rooney presented the cup to Cill Chua captain John McClean at the games conclusion. 

Kilcoo: O McEvoy, D Grant, S O’Hanlon, P Devlin, G Morgan, J McClean (capt), S McClean, J McClean, T Kane, C Laverty (0-2), J McKee, J Devlin, S Devlin (0-3), J Morgan (0-4), C McEvoy (1-4).

Subs used: L Clarke, J McCourt, C Fettes.

Burren: M Sherry, S Downey,  O Duggan, J Deluhant, S O’Connor (0-1), C Bradley, H Magill, D O’Neill,  T Byrne (0-2), A Murdock (0-2), D Lynch, N Somerville,  D Murdock (0-2), D McCartan, T O’Hare (0-1).

Subs used: S Murdock (0-2), P Delahaunt (0-1), F Carr, H Price, R McGivern 

Referee: Eugene O’Hare (Dromara).

Cill Chua 1-13

Burren 0-11