Big day at Loughinisland

Big day at Loughinisland

16 December 2020

LOUGHINISLAND GAC’s annual senior presentation took place at the club grounds on Sunday.

The socially-distanced ceremony acknowledged the hard work put in by players and volunteers alike.

Although it was an unusual event due to Covid-19 restrictions, the players put in a herculean effort to get fit and ready with safeguard measures in place throughout the season.

Paul McMullan rightly received the clubperson of the year award for his sterling work behind the scenes to help the club attain bronze, silver and gold awards in the GAA’s Club Maith scheme.

Finally, history was made at the club when Eilish Gallagher was inducted into the club’s Hall of Fame.

Mrs Gallagher is the first woman to receive this recognition in the club’s proud 114-year history. Congratulations and well done to all award winners.

Ladies’ joint player of the year (Club Cup): Bethan Carvill and Aine Smith.

Ladies’ sportsperson of the year (William Hanna Cup): Rachel Murphy.

Ladies’ young player of the year (Club Cup): Jessica O’Hare.

Men’s player of the year (Hugh O’Toole Cup): Chris Turley.

Men’s sportsperson of the year (Bobby ‘Bishop’ Madine Cup): Rory Mason.

Men’s reserve player of the year (Vincent Rogan Cup): Tiernan Khalili.

Men’s young player of the year (Dominic Rice Cup): Oisin Savage.

Clubperson of the year (John Johnston Cup): Paul McMullan.

Hall of Fame (Murray Family Cup): Eilish Gallagher.